Making your giving matter more...since 1924.
How do I...

Our Board

LEFT TO RIGHT: Mary Kay Vyskocil, Roger J. Maldonado, Jamie Drake, Valerie S. Peltier, Ann Unterberg, Jason H. Wright, Raffiq Nathoo, Judith O. Rubin, Anne Moore, Barron (Buzz) Tenny. FRONT: Lorie A. Slutsky, Charlynn Goins. Photo by Ari Mintz / The Trust
The governing body consists of 12 members who serve as the Distribution Committee of The New York Community Trust and as the Board of Directors of Community Funds, Inc. It is their responsibility to oversee our organization's operations and grantmaking.

Six members are nominated by civic authorities representing the public: one by the Mayor of the City of New York; one by the Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit; one by the Chairman of the Partnership for New York City and Chamber of Commerce; one by the Chairman of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; one by the President of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York; and one by the President of the New York Academy of Medicine. The Distribution Committee selects five members, and the President of The Trust is a member by reason of office.

Members serve without compensation. They are selected for their judgment, integrity, and understanding of philanthropic needs. The Committee meets every two months throughout the year; subcommittees meet on a regular basis.

The Finance and Audit Committee monitors the financial operations of The Trust. The Investment Committee establishes asset allocation guidelines, recommends investment advisors and vehicles, and monitors investment performance. The Fund Purposes and Suggestion Review Committees assure that the provisions and intent of each donor’s philanthropy are honored, and reviews grants suggested by donors to ensure that they meet our charitable guidelines.

Distribution Committee

Valerie Peltier, Chairman

Managing Director, Tishman Speyer; Trustee, American Museum of Natural History; Former Trustee, Visiting Nurse Service of New York.
Nominated by the Chairman of the Partnership for New York City.

Jamie Drake

Founder and Principal, Drake Design Associates; Chairman, Alpha Workshops; Fellow, American Society of Interior Designers; Member: Directors’ Council Historic House Trust of New York, Interior Design Hall of Fame; Former Co-Chairman, Furnish-a-Future Industry Committee.

Nominated by the Mayor of the City of New York.

Charlynn Goins

Director, Fannie Mae; Member: Council on Foreign Relations, Gracie Mansion Conservancy Advisory Board; Former Senior Vice President, Prudential Securities.

Roger J. Maldonado

Partner, Balber Pickard Maldonado & Van Der Tuin, PC; Co-Chair, Committee on Non-Lawyers and the Justice Gap; Member: Commercial Division Advisory Council, Departmental Disciplinary Committee for the Appellate Division of the New York State Supreme Court; Referee, New York State Commission on Judicial Conduct; Vice President and Member, United Neighborhood Houses.
Nominated by the President of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York.

Anne Moore, M.D.

Professor of Clinical Medicine, Joan & Sanford I. Weill Medical College of Cornell University; Attending Physician, New York Presbyterian Hospital; Medical Director, Weill Cornell Breast Center; Former Director: American Board of Internal Medicine, New York Academy of Medicine.
Nominated by the President of the New York Academy of Medicine.

Raffiq Nathoo

Former Senior Managing Director, Blackstone Advisory Partners LP; Trustee, North Shore–LIJ Health System; Board member: Dartmouth College Dickey Center for International Understanding, Children’s Museum of Manhattan; Member: Council on Foreign Relations, Lenox Hill Hospital Executive Committee

Judith O. Rubin

Chairman, Playwrights Horizons; Trustee: Mount Sinai Hospital and Medical Center, Laurents/Hatcher Foundation, Collegiate School; Member: Tony Awards Administration Committee, Cultural Affairs Advisory Committee of New York City, California Institute of  Arts Board of Overseers; Former President and Chairman, 92nd Street Y.

Lorie A. Slutsky

President: The New York Community Trust, Community Funds, The James Foundation; Director: AllianceBernstein LP, AXA Financial, Independent Sector; Trustee Emerita: Colgate University, The New School; Former Director: Council on Foundations (Chairman), Foundation Center (Vice Chairman), BoardSource (Chairman), Hispanics in Philanthropy, United Way of New York City.
Member ex officio.

Barron (Buzz) Tenny

Former Executive Vice President, Secretary, and General Counsel, Ford Foundation; Board Member: City Bar Fund of the New York City Bar Association, International Fellowship Fund, International Center for Transitional Justice (Vice Chairman), Foundation Center (Vice Chairman), Native Arts and Cultures Foundation, Youth Orchestra of the Americas.

Ann Unterberg

Chairman: Lincoln Center Education, Monmouth Medical Center Foundation; Vice Chairman, Monmouth Medical Center; Trustee: Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, International Women’s Health Coalition, Two River Theater Company; Former Senior Vice President, L.F. Rothschild, Unterberg, Towbin.
Nominated by the Chairman of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts.

Mary Kay Vyskocil

Partner, Simpson Thacher & Bartlett; Member: Federal Bar Council (Treasurer and Executive Committee), U.S. District Court for the Southern District of NY Judicial Improvement Committee Advisory Group and Judicial Merits Selection Panel, New York Inn of Court; Referee, Lawyers’ Disciplinary Committee; Member, New York State Commercial Division, Advisory Council; Trustee: Historical Society of New York State Courts, St. Joseph’s Seminary, Dominican College of Blauvelt; Director, Judges and Lawyers Breast Cancer Alert.
Nominated by the Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

Jason H. Wright

Principal, Geer Mountain Holdings, LLC; Former Senior Vice President, Merrill Lynch & Co.; Former President, Nabisco Foundation; Trustee: Museum for African Art, International Center for Journalists; Advisory Board Member, NYU Center for Global Affairs; Former Trustee: Cooper Union, Studio in a School Association, James Beard Foundation, Madison Square Boys & Girls Club.

Consulting members: (From left to right) Samuel
S. Polk, Anne P. Sidamon-Eristoff, Estelle (Nicki) Newman Tanner, Robert M. Kaufman, Ernest J. Collazo. Not pictured: Lulu C. Wang and Charlotte Moses Fischman. Photo by Ari Mintz / The Trust

Consulting Members

Ernest J. Collazo

Managing Partner, Collazo Florentino & Keil LLP.

Charlotte Moses Fischman

General Counsel, Kramer Levin Naftalis & Frankel LLP.

Robert M. Kaufman

Partner, Proskauer Rose LLP; Vice Chairman Emeritus, The New York Community Trust; Director, Visiting Nurse Service of New York; Trustee, Brooklyn Law School.

Samuel S. Polk

Retired Partner, Milbank, Tweed, Hadley & McCloy; Chairman Emeritus, The New York Community Trust; Life Trustee, Hospital for Special Surgery.

Anne P. Sidamon-Eristoff

Chairwoman Emerita: American Museum of Natural History, The New York Community Trust; Director Emerita, World Wildlife Fund.

Estelle (Nicki) Newman Tanner

Trustee: New York Public Radio, Jewish Women’s Archive, Auburn Theological Seminary; Trustee Emerita: Wellesley College, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation.

Lulu C. Wang

Chief Executive Officer, Tupelo Capital Management LLC; Trustee, Metropolitan Museum
of Art.

909 Third Avenue | New York, NY 10022 | P (212) 686-0010 | F (212) 532-8528 |
Contact Us | Directions | Staff | Comments on the Website

The New York Community Trust is a 501(c)3 public charity.