Don’t just give.
Solve. Today and forever.

Our Board

The governing body consists of 12 members who serve as the Distribution Committee of The New York Community Trust and as the Board of Directors of Community Funds, Inc. It is their responsibility to oversee our organization's operations and grantmaking.

Six members are nominated by civic authorities representing the public: one by the Mayor of the City of New York; one by the Chief Judge of the United States Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit; one by the Chairman of the Partnership for New York City and Chamber of Commerce; one by the Chairman of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts; one by the President of the Association of the Bar of the City of New York; and one by the President of the New York Academy of Medicine. The Distribution Committee selects five members, and the President of The Trust is a member by reason of office.

Members serve without compensation. They are selected for their judgment, integrity, and understanding of philanthropic needs. The Committee meets every two months throughout the year; subcommittees meet on a regular basis.

The Finance and Audit Committee monitors the financial operations of The Trust. The Investment Committee establishes asset allocation guidelines, recommends investment advisors and vehicles, and monitors investment performance. The Fund Purposes and Suggestion Review Committees assure that the provisions and intent of each donor’s philanthropy are honored, and reviews grants suggested by donors to ensure that they meet our charitable guidelines.

Distribution Committee

Valerie Peltier, Chair

Ms. Peltier is a Managing Director at Tishman Speyer, the global real estate firm. She joined Tishman Speyer in 1995 as part of the Acquisitions and Development group, and since then has been responsible for the planning, development and construction of several major projects. Notably, she was responsible for leading the development of the $1.5 billion Yankee Stadium in the Bronx. 

Ms. Peltier is a member of the Board of Trustees of the American Museum of Natural History. She has served on the Board of the Visiting Nurse Service of New York and the Harvard College Fund Executive Committee.

Ms. Peltier is a graduate of Harvard College (A.B. 1989) and the Columbia School of Law (J.D. 1993), admitted to the New York State Bar in 1994.

Jamie Drake

Founder and Principal, Drake/Anderson; Chairman, Alpha Workshops; Fellow, American Society of Interior Designers; Member: Parsons The New School for Design Board of Governors, Historic House Trust of New York Directors’ Council, Interior Design Hall of Fame; Former Co-Chairman, Furnish-a-Future Industry Committee. Nominated by the Mayor of the City of New York.

Charlynn Goins

Former Director: Fannie Mae, AXA Financial, The Mainstay Funds; Chairman Emerita, The New York Community Trust; Former Chairman, New York City Health and Hospitals Corporation; Member: Council on Foreign Relations, The Century Association, Women’s Forum (NY), All Star Code Advisory Committee.

Roger J. Maldonado

Partner, Balber Pickard Maldonado & Van Der Tuin, PC; Co-Chair, Committee on Non-Lawyers and the Justice Gap; Member: Commercial Division Advisory Council, Board of Directors of the New York Bar Foundation, Departmental Disciplinary Committee for the Appellate Division of the NYS Supreme Court; Referee, NYS Commission on Judicial Conduct; Vice President: United Neighborhood Houses, NYC Bar Association. Nominated by the President of the NYC Bar Association.

Anne Moore, M.D.

Professor of Clinical Medicine, Weill Cornell Medicine; Attending Physician, NewYork-Presbyterian Hospital; Medical Director, Weill Cornell Breast Center; Former Director: American Board of Internal Medicine, New York Academy of Medicine. Nominated by the President of the New York Academy of Medicine.    

Raffiq Nathoo

Executive-in-Residence, New Mountain Capital; Former Senior Managing Director, Blackstone; Trustee: Nightingale-Bamford School, Northwell Health; Board Member, Dartmouth College Dickey Center for International Understanding; Member: Council on Foreign Relations, Lenox Hill Hospital Executive Committee.

Stephen C. Robinson

Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP; Civilian Representative, NYPD Terrorism Committee; Federal Monitor, Westchester Fair Housing Case; Former U.S. District Judge and Assistant U.S. Attorney for the Southern District of NY; Former U.S. Attorney for the District of Connecticut; Former Special Assistant to the Director of the FBI; Director: Colin Powell School of the City College of NY, Legal Outreach; Member: Lincoln Center Education Committee, Cornell Law School Dean’s Advisory Committee. Nominated by the Chief Judge of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit.

Judith O. Rubin

Chairman, Playwrights Horizons; Trustee: Mount Sinai Health System, Laurents/ Hatcher Foundation, Collegiate School; Member: Tony Awards Administration Committee, American Theatre Wing Advisory Board, Theatre Communications Group Executive Committee, New York City Department of Cultural Affairs Advisory Commission; Former President and Chairman, 92nd Street Y. 

Lorie A. Slutsky

President: The New York Community Trust, Community Funds, The James Foundation; Member, NYS Permanent Commission on Access to Justice; Director: AllianceBernstein LP, AXA Financial; Trustee Emerita: Colgate University, The New School; Former Director: Council on Foundations (Chairman), BoardSource (Chairman), Independent Sector. Member ex officio. 

Barron (Buzz) Tenny

Former Executive Vice President, Secretary, and General Counsel, Ford Foundation; Board Member: City Bar Fund of the New York City Bar Association, International Center for Transitional Justice (Vice Chairman), Native Arts and Cultures Foundation, Youth Orchestra of the Americas.

Ann Unterberg

Chairman: Lincoln Center Education, Monmouth Medical Center Foundation; Vice Chairman, Monmouth Medical Center; Trustee: Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts, International Women’s Health Coalition, Two River Theater Company; Former Senior Vice President, L.F. Rothschild, Unterberg, Towbin. Nominated by the Chairman of Lincoln Center for the Performing Arts. 

Jason H. Wright

Principal, Geer Mountain Holdings, LLC; Former Senior Vice President, Merrill Lynch & Co.; Former Senior Vice President, Nabisco Group Holdings Corp.; Former President, Nabisco Foundation; Trustee, International Center for Journalists; Advisory Board Member: NYU Center for Global Affairs, Studio in a School Association; Former Trustee: Cooper Union, James Beard Foundation, Madison Square Boys & Girls Club, Museum for African Art. 

Consulting Members

Ernest J. Collazo

Managing Partner, Collazo Florentino & Keil LLP.

Robert M. Kaufman

Partner, Proskauer Rose LLP; Vice Chairman Emeritus, The New York Community Trust; Director, Visiting Nurse Service of New York; Trustee, Brooklyn Law School; Vice Chair, Citizens Union Foundation.

Anne P. Sidamon-Eristoff

Chairwoman Emerita: American Museum of Natural History, The New York Community Trust; Director Emerita, World Wildlife Fund. 

Estelle (Nicki) Newman Tanner

Trustee: New York Public Radio, Auburn Theological Seminary; Trustee Emerita: Wellesley College, Colonial Williamsburg Foundation, Jewish Women’s Archive.

909 Third Avenue | New York, NY 10022 | P (212) 686-0010 | F (212) 532-8528 |
Contact Us | Staff | Westchester Community Foundation | Long Island Community Foundation

The New York Community Trust is a 501(c)3 public charity.