She Loved Playwrights. So She Gave. | The New York Community Trust
July 11, 2019   |   By The New York Community Trust
She Loved Playwrights. So She Gave.
A Strange Loop production photo

ON STAGE: Playwrights Horizons’ production of A Strange Loop, written by Michael R. Jackson, one of the winners of the 2019 Helen Merrill Awards. Photo by Joan Marcus

Helen Merrill was a theater agent and mentor to scores of aspiring playwrights.

Today, her passion for theater continues through The New York Community Trust Helen Merrill Award for Playwriting. Helen created a fund in her will, and since 1999, her permanent fund has made 88 awards totaling $1.8 million, including five awards of $30,000 this year. Congratulations to the 2019 winners: Carlyle Brown, Mia Chung, Aleshea Harris, Michael R. Jackson, and Daniel Alexander Jones.

You can read more about Helen Merrill here and learn about the 2019 award winners here. 

How would you like to be remembered?

Contact us at (212) 686-0010 x363 or to learn about setting up a fund.

Media Contact Information

Need help or advice?

Amy Wolf
Senior Communications Officer
(646) 214-1004

Get our media kit